Special Interest
August 25, 2019, 01:19:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RCA Cable question  (Read 2037 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
F_c_O
Heavy user
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 282



« on: May 23, 2016, 08:41:38 PM »

Is there one of these that accept four RCA cable inputs? Annoyed at having to constantly switch around different sources.
Logged
FreakAnimalFinland
MODERATOR
Administrator
Overkill user
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 4115



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 09:01:23 PM »

I'd say that's called mixer...
You just get those rca->regular jack adapters and then you can connect the gear to mixer? If stereo isn't needed, then very good options for tiny passive 4 track mixers so it won't take much space.
Logged

E-mail: fanimal +a+ cfprod,com
MAGAZINE: http://www.special-interests.net
LABEL / DISTRIBUTION: FREAK ANIMAL http://www.nhfastore.net
Theodore
Heavy user
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 289



« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2016, 05:29:46 AM »

This can mix inputs, at least says so : http://www.amazon.com/TC-716-Stereo-Selector-BLACK-VERSION/dp/B0001F347K
For cable adapters, i don't know.
Logged

“ἀθάνατοι θνητοί, θνητοὶ ἀθάνατοι, ζῶντες τὸν ἐκείνων θάνατον, τὸν δὲ ἐκείνων βίον τεθνεῶτες”
F_c_O
Heavy user
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 282



« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2016, 10:59:43 AM »

This can mix inputs, at least says so : http://www.amazon.com/TC-716-Stereo-Selector-BLACK-VERSION/dp/B0001F347K
For cable adapters, i don't know.
This kind of thing looks perfect. Thanks. Passive mixer with only mono output won't work as this will be for listening music at home.
Logged
Theodore
Heavy user
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 289



« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2016, 07:18:25 AM »

Just a note on the above product you may want to be aware of. User review :

Quote
The solution to my issue. Be informed that the selectors operates as a common place: you push a button and you connect the button assigned device to the common place. So, to connect the tuner to the amplifier, you have to push both buttons (the tuner one and the amplifier one). In a common utilization the amplifier button should be always depressed. It can handle five sources and one amplifier or four sources and two amplifier and so on, the sum of attached devices is six. Every channel has a 1 KOhm resistor so the signal going to the amplifier has to cross 2 resistors in serie and its impedance is increased by 2 KOhm. This prevents possible issues when matching devices but could attenuate a little the signal. Not a defect, this is a good way to have no hassle on not powered devices as this selector. If you push down two or more source buttons you will hear two or more audio programs. But it is not to be done, the tipically low output impedance of sources will lower the signal very much expecially if one source is powered off. Known this, it is an excellent and very flexible solution to connect an amplifier to more sources it could handle by itself. And, if you need, to connect one source to five amplifier (watch at the possible attenuation due to each amplifier input impedance). No ground loop in my case, not any noise imported. Five star without doubt!

So don't have the unused inputs' buttons pressed all the time. It will decrease the volume on the one you actually use. It's better to press two or more inputs only when you really want to mix them and they are sending signal.
Logged

“ἀθάνατοι θνητοί, θνητοὶ ἀθάνατοι, ζῶντες τὸν ἐκείνων θάνατον, τὸν δὲ ἐκείνων βίον τεθνεῶτες”
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.099 seconds with 19 queries.