Power Electronics/Death Industrial Advice

Started by birthdeath, January 30, 2015, 05:31:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

birthdeath

Hello,
Let me start off by saying I'm very new to making music and pretty much know nothing about synths besides what I've read on the users manual. I'm shooting for a sound that's creepy and atmospheric like atrax morgue but a little harsher and noisier and more layered with samples,tape loops,feedback etc.(Somewhere like a cross between AM and the really early super noisy Sutcliffe Jugend, but of course more layered and probably with a pretty different "aesthetic")

So far with just screwing around with the volca keys i've pretty much only figured out how to hold down a key and make rumbling and droney sounds. I would like to know what i should need to know/do in order to create some of those kinds of synth sounds from artists like atrax morgue,subklinik,taint,whitehouse,coma detox,survival unit,etc.NOT looking to copy them exactly i just wanna know how to to make harsh and abrasive but at the same time atmospheric synth sounds/rhythm. especially need help with rhythm.

I also have effects pedals,a mic, access to free software(but would to use it as little as possible), and im in the process of making an APC .

Cementimental

Welcome :) Are you the same person who posted on noiseguide recently? just because your question and gear sounds similar, I don't want to repeat myself. also if so you probably need to be more specific or you'll get the same kind of replies as you did there there but from people who know even less about gear (tho more about old death industrial maybe) :D

birthdeath

Quote from: Cementimental on February 02, 2015, 10:17:35 PM