Black State

Started by Balor/SS1535, January 19, 2020, 08:55:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Balor/SS1535

I have been listening to the power electronics band Black State for some time now, and recently received a copy of their Hlose lp.  From what I could find online, it seems that they are from the UK, but apart from that I have not been able to learn anything more about them.  I assume that they would like to remain anonymous, but I have no knowledge that would confirm or deny this suspicion.  Does anyone have any information about the band?  Do they have any other side projects?  Are there any interviews with them in zines/online?

IVX

I really like this project a lot and also could never find a shred of info anywhere.

brutalist_tapes

i met the guy, he is indeed from the UK. i think he is tied to the whole all dead tapes/stoic strength/northern english scene... but i think man wants to stay anonymous, due to controversial nature of his work... and i guess living in ultra-pc hellscape UK? anyways, great project! first couple of tapes was so-so, but hlose is really really good. looking forward for more!

Balor/SS1535

Quote from: brutalist_tapes on January 20, 2020, 03:06:16 PM
i met the guy, he is indeed from the UK. i think he is tied to the whole all dead tapes/stoic strength/northern english scene... but i think man wants to stay anonymous, due to controversial nature of his work... and i guess living in ultra-pc hellscape UK? anyways, great project! first couple of tapes was so-so, but hlose is really really good. looking forward for more!

Thanks, at least I know some facts now!  Hopefully he will put out some new material soon.

I never really listened to the early Black State tapes (only "We Hate Them"), but have thought a lot about getting the compilation cds.  I liked the "Offensive Weapon" 7 inch too.

burdizzo