Creating cutups

Started by sadneck, December 20, 2019, 11:27:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sadneck

Currently I'm using Reaper to chop and edit lots of audio for a cut up/sound collage type thing, but it's quite cumbersome, so I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on any plugins or other software that offers up quick, simple and efficient methods for cutting up and sequencing lots of audio? I'm sure I could manage with Reaper but it's a slow process. A quick Google took me to LiveSplice if anyone has any thoughts on that?

A-Z

NI Kontakt, Image Line Slisex

Pigswill

I'm curious what your biggest problems have been specifically. I've been using Reaper exclusively for the last several months. I do quite a bit of chopping and editing in whatever I work on, plus a decent amount of MIDI stuff. Previously, I would use either Sony Acid or ModPlug Tracker, but Reaper blows both of those away.

My biggest gripe by far is that handling edges of clips is a lot harder than it should be. When you have two adjacent clips, you might want to do something simple like crossfade them into one another, or change the fade. However, depending on your cursor position, it can be ready to edit in one of four modes, like adjusting the fade, resizing one media item, resizing both media items, etc. It depends on pixel-perfect precision to enter the right mode sometimes.

Volume control had the same issue for me. Luckily, I came across this tip that lets you adjust volume with the mouse wheel

I'm also not completely used to how the mouse wheel affects the interface. A lot of the time, I expect it to scroll, even if I'm not hovering the left track list, but it just zooms the tracks. I figure I'll get over this learning curve eventually.