genre-genre

Started by calaverasgrande, September 17, 2017, 09:04:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

calaverasgrande

I'm once again really fed up with genre.

As a consumer of music and various audio artforms. It's kind of helpful to find stuff that is along the lines of musics I've enjoyed previously.
But then it is also not.
The Rock, Rap, Indie etc genre labels are about 30 years out of date. And the hyphenated sub genre shit is just ludicrous.

Thats just a bunch of crabby old man shit. Whatever.

However as an artist I just keep coming back to genre like a hatefuck lover. When I'm on my things making things, I do not really think of genre. I just start doing stuff, and it sometimes comes out as a melodic kind of happy thing. Or a slow, mean heavy thing, or a violent noisy thing.
Even my more song-type executions do not slide comfortably into synth-punk or industrial-rock or whatever.

But then I do like to play out. If for no other reason than to her my stupid shit played at concert volume. And see a lot of dissapointed faces, and one or two sociopathic individuals who totally get it. So I have to go suck some promoter-booker ego dick. Jump through hoops and classify myself into one of these things so they can put me up on some bill with other acts.
It feels so high school.
Are you a jock or a greaser?
'I'm an indie shogaze-black-metal drama club nerd.'

Like HNW. Was there a soft noise wall first, then HNW had to be born so someone would beat up soft noise wall?
Or how it seems like lately nobody want's to be called a noise artist anymore.
'I'm a modular synthesist'.

calaverasgrande

not on facebook.
Sorry I stepped on your record collector nuts.

online prowler

Totall off the point, but whatever:

What's 'a greaser'? I don't get that slang here in Scandinavia... I kind of enjoyed the linguistic image of that word. Also... that piece of gear you have on your profile mug shot looks interesting... would you care to relate what it is?

Cementimental