Special Interest
November 20, 2019, 06:02:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 54
  Print  
Author Topic: What are you reading  (Read 287900 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Reprobate
Guest
« Reply #45 on: April 10, 2012, 12:55:53 AM »

I've been interested in reading up on runes (the history, the meanings, etc.) but am not quite sure on where to start. Any good recommendations on this subject?
Logged
RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #46 on: April 10, 2012, 01:15:12 AM »

I've been interested in reading up on runes (the history, the meanings, etc.) but am not quite sure on where to start. Any good recommendations on this subject?

Do you mean the style of writing or the esoteric occult use (not exactly one in the same)? Although I have never been into runes I know a few people that I used to attend O.T.O. with who used them that suggested Odin's Gateway. One of the classic's on the subject is Blume's The Book of Runes, a few editions come with a bag of runes and I've heard some people talking about Futhark by Thorsson which just came out.

I've always preferred the I Ching as far as divination is concerned. Geomancy is probably the most useless and base of all the choices out there, and the Tarot, while it is amazing for meditation and reflection on ideas that cannot be expressed in words like the path's on the Tree of Life, it is actually very, very difficult to use for divining. Dangerous if you don't know what you are doing too, as the general idea is to invoke a live "spirit" to control the operations of the hand and/or brain of the person using them. The idiots that have their little tables up or do it over the phone are Charlatan's.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 01:22:36 AM by RyanWreck » Logged
ConcreteMascara
SI Staff
Diehard user
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1335



WWW
« Reply #47 on: April 10, 2012, 03:25:20 AM »

I've been interested in reading up on runes (the history, the meanings, etc.) but am not quite sure on where to start. Any good recommendations on this subject?

I think if you search there was a thread at some point about Runes...
Logged

RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #48 on: April 10, 2012, 03:52:59 AM »

Some people talk about it in the "Occult & Esoteric" thread. Doesn't really go into anything too deep.
Logged
ConcreteMascara
SI Staff
Diehard user
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1335



WWW
« Reply #49 on: April 27, 2012, 06:12:30 PM »

Some people talk about it in the "Occult & Esoteric" thread. Doesn't really go into anything too deep.

Then maybe the thread was on the Troniks board. I definitely remember there being a Rune specific thread on one of the two boards though...
Logged

FreakAnimalFinland
MODERATOR
Administrator
Overkill user
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 4159



WWW
« Reply #50 on: April 27, 2012, 09:34:06 PM »

TOTAALIKAPITALISMI by Jean Peyrelevade
Original title "Le capitalisme total". I don't know if English version exists, but this pretty high profile economist has done plenty of books on topic of economy and capitalism. Within little over 100 pages it explains detailed, yet also pretty easy ways the mechanics and structures of how modern day financial capitalism works.
It's not anti-capitalist by any means. Yet offers critique towards corrupted, unrealistic and dysfunctional system which simply can't go on like this. I'm quite sure many people who watch the TV news of current euro crisis and wonder what the fuck is happening, this book could be good source. In Finland, I recall, you get this for 5 euro or some other bargain price the slightly non-cool pamphlets end up few years after they are published...


DANSK PORNO / DANISH PORN
"now releases Danish Porn - 100 years of 'sin', 13 handpicked stories, 332 pages. A compilation played out on the best paper, written by the nicest people and wrapped in the most beautiful graphics. A look into the history of porn in Denmark with sinful images accompanied by short texts, the way we want you to experience it."
Great book! Hardcover professional book that came out just.. week ago (foreword is from April 2012!)? I doubt it has hit the shelves almost anywhere outside Copenhagen, but since I was there, I managed to score this.
Bodil, Color Climax, Ole Ege, Cocktail, Weekend Sex, Mary Willumsen,... Story starts from 1800's and goes from illegal written stories and kiosks dealing postcards to revolutionary freedom of all pornographic goods. It doesn't revolve too much in utter filth, but isn't afraid to show Bodil with dog, pig and horse (although horse genitals censored) and pictures of 70's porn shop wall of magazines including titles likes "Lola 14 år". Most of content is most of all tales of people pursuiting their desires on edge of what is accepted, but in very joyful and free-thinking spirit. Drugs, abuse, gangsters and such make their appearance frequently, but still more are footnote of bigger story. Lay-out is great, all the text is both Danish and English. Quality of print and images is top-notch! Anyone into vintage porn: Do not miss! This isn't once of those Taschen style "find it everywhere" books, but smaller company you find: http://nordstromsforlag.dk/
Logged

E-mail: fanimal +a+ cfprod,com
MAGAZINE: http://www.special-interests.net
LABEL / DISTRIBUTION: FREAK ANIMAL http://www.nhfastore.net
RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #51 on: April 28, 2012, 01:12:37 AM »




DANSK PORNO / DANISH PORN


Thanks for the heads up. Ordered! How deep does into go into the more...childish side of Color Climax?
Logged
FreakAnimalFinland
MODERATOR
Administrator
Overkill user
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 4159



WWW
« Reply #52 on: April 28, 2012, 08:36:33 AM »

This topic is covered only in few sentences, where they mention CCC used to publish such material, but with rising outrage & opposition of general public, they announced they only bought such material abroad and didn't make anything by themselves.

If you need book about Copenhagen youngster section, you have to get Porn Gold (1988). It has extensive report with interviews of worlds most high profile publisher of the genre at the time - and the first guy who started making such magazines.
Logged

E-mail: fanimal +a+ cfprod,com
MAGAZINE: http://www.special-interests.net
LABEL / DISTRIBUTION: FREAK ANIMAL http://www.nhfastore.net
RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #53 on: April 28, 2012, 08:58:17 AM »

Would that be also titled Porn Gold: Inside the Pornography Business by David Hebditch? There seems to be another book that shares the same title Porn Gold and one is German (or maybe it is simply a translation of the same book?).


On another note, does anyone have any suggestions for good medical/law/clinical books with photos? In the vein of Sex Related Homicide and Death Investigation. I've seen so many but don't quite remember too many names. There was one with a photo of some guy laying on his bed who died of a heart attack from shoving extremely large dildos up his ass, I've been trying to find that one for awhile now if anyone knows what I am talking about.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2012, 09:02:43 AM by RyanWreck » Logged
FreakAnimalFinland
MODERATOR
Administrator
Overkill user
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 4159



WWW
« Reply #54 on: April 28, 2012, 09:10:24 AM »

yeah, that's the book. Cover looks very "normal". Like Teresa Orlowski on cover, very cheap late 80's graphics in dust-jacket, but this hardcover book includes studies of many relevant early makers of commercial pornography and special long chapters on Exim trading/Blue Movies as well as huge FBI sting operation.
Logged

E-mail: fanimal +a+ cfprod,com
MAGAZINE: http://www.special-interests.net
LABEL / DISTRIBUTION: FREAK ANIMAL http://www.nhfastore.net
Si Clark
Heavy user
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 437



WWW
« Reply #55 on: April 28, 2012, 10:10:55 PM »

I have a digital version of an Italian (possibly, can't remember) medical book that has one hell of a lot of pictures of a whole range of injuries and attacks. If you are interested let me know and I can send it over. It's just a big pdf document, about 220MB.
Logged

Black Psychosis -label - http://blackpsychosis.blogspot.co.uk/
RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #56 on: April 29, 2012, 02:11:32 AM »




On another note, does anyone have any suggestions for good medical/law/clinical books with photos? In the vein of Sex Related Homicide and Death Investigation. I've seen so many but don't quite remember too many names. There was one with a photo of some guy laying on his bed who died of a heart attack from shoving extremely large dildos up his ass, I've been trying to find that one for awhile now if anyone knows what I am talking about.

There is PRACTICAL HOMICIDE INVESTIGATION. Had a color photo section & alot of b/w photos of victims of serial killers. Use to own but sold it when a revised ed. came out but never got around to ordering it. Sotos used text excerpts from one bk on child abuse that is expensive but I cannot remember the title of. Nor do I remember which book he used the excerpts in.

Maybe it is "Child Maltreatment: A Comprehensive Photographic Reference" (I believe it was in Index)? Quite a few editions and spin off reference books have came from that one and they are all very detailed and great. Expensive though. They came out with one titled "Child Sexual Exploitation" which is fantastic, has pictures from certain magazines and private polaroid collections. They come with CDRom's now you can view on the internet. I like how the books say "Not to be view by non-professionals" which is just saying it's going to be good.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2012, 02:16:11 AM by RyanWreck » Logged
HongKongGoolagong
Diehard user
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 752


WWW
« Reply #57 on: April 29, 2012, 06:17:09 AM »

New edition of Philip K Dick 'Exegesis'. Pretty daunting at almost 1000 pages, it's gonna keep me busy for a while.
PKD has been a big part of my life since I was a kid in the early 80s. My top five: Ubik, Valis, Flow My Tears, Scanner, Three Stigmata.

RE: legal 70s KP, there is an interesting chapter in Lawrence O'Toole's 'Pornocopia' on Rodox and CC. I know from an older friend and from that book on Robert Black that this stuff was once available in just about every town in the UK under the counter in newsagents.
Logged
RyanWreck
Guest
« Reply #58 on: April 30, 2012, 05:59:26 AM »

OH no sorry, guess that was misleading. I meant the new version of those books you can order online now come with a CD-ROM.
Logged
SKY BURIAL
user
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200



« Reply #59 on: May 01, 2012, 04:57:35 PM »

The Wind Up Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 54
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.182 seconds with 20 queries.